Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws

MISSISSIPPI STATUTES AND CODES

97-5-3 - Desertion or nonsupport of child under age eighteen.

Listen
§ 97-5-3. Desertion or nonsupport of child under age eighteen.Any parent who shall desert or wilfully neglect or refuse to provide for the support and maintenance of his or her child or children, including the natural parent of an illegitimate child or children wherein paternity has been established by law or when the natural parent has acknowledged paternity in writing, while said child or children are under the age of eighteen (18) years shall be guilty of a felony and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished for a first offense by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by commitment to the custody of the Department of Corrections not more than five (5) years, or both; and for a second or subsequent offense, by a fine of not less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) nor more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00), or by commitment to the custody of the Department of Corrections not less than two (2) years nor more than five (5) years, or both, in the discretion of the court. Sources: Codes, 1930, § 861; 1942, § 2087; Laws,1928, Ex. ch. 89; Laws, 1962, ch. 311; Laws,1995, ch. 533, § 1, eff from and after July 1, 1995.
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • § 97-5-3. Desertion or nonsupport of child under age eighteen.
     

    Any parent who shall desert or wilfully neglect or refuse to provide for the support and maintenance of his or her child or children, including the natural parent of an illegitimate child or children wherein paternity has been established by law or when the natural parent has acknowledged paternity in writing, while said child or children are under the age of eighteen (18) years shall be guilty of a felony and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished for a first offense by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by commitment to the custody of the Department of Corrections not more than five (5) years, or both; and for a second or subsequent offense, by a fine of not less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) nor more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00), or by commitment to the custody of the Department of Corrections not less than two (2) years nor more than five (5) years, or both, in the discretion of the court. 
     

    Sources: Codes, 1930, § 861; 1942, § 2087; Laws,  1928, Ex. ch. 89; Laws, 1962, ch. 311; Laws,  1995, ch. 533, § 1, eff from and after July 1, 1995.
     

    Mississippi Forms by Issue

    Mississippi Business Forms
    Mississippi Court Forms
    > Case Evaluation
    > Dispute
    Mississippi Divorce Forms
    Mississippi Family Forms
    Mississippi Gun Forms
    Mississippi Marriage Forms
    Mississippi Name Change Forms
    Mississippi Tax Forms

    Mississippi Law

    Mississippi State Laws
        > Mississippi Child Support
        > Mississippi Gun Laws
        > Mississippi Statute
    Mississippi Tax
        > Mississippi State Tax
    Mississippi Agencies
        > Mississippi Department of Corrections
        > Mississippi Department of Education
        > Mississippi Secretary of State
        > Mississippi State Tax Commission

    Mississippi Court Map

    Operation Confirm
    Are you sure you want to delete it?
      
    Tips