Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills

NEW HAMPSHIRE STATUTES AND CODES

Section 265:31 Stop Signs; Yield Signs.

Listen
   I. Preferential right of way at an intersection may be indicated by stop signs or yield signs.   II. Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic control signal, every driver of a vehicle approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at a point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection.   III. The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign if required for safety to stop shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or, in the event there is no crosswalk, at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway.   IV. The fine for violation of this section shall be $100.Source.RSA 262-A:50.1955, 178:2.1963, 330:1.1981, 146:1, eff. Jan. 1, 1982.2005, 177:43, eff. July 1, 2005.2006, 259:15, eff. one day after passage of state operating budget for biennium ending June 30, 2009.2007, 263:66, eff. June 29, 2007.
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max

  •    I. Preferential right of way at an intersection may be indicated by stop signs or yield signs.
       II. Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic control signal, every driver of a vehicle approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at a point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection.
       III. The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign if required for safety to stop shall stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or, in the event there is no crosswalk, at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway.
       IV. The fine for violation of this section shall be $100.

    Source. RSA 262-A:50. 1955, 178:2. 1963, 330:1. 1981, 146:1, eff. Jan. 1, 1982. 2005, 177:43, eff. July 1, 2005. 2006, 259:15, eff. one day after passage of state operating budget for biennium ending June 30, 2009. 2007, 263:66, eff. June 29, 2007.

    New Hampshire Forms by Issue

    New Hampshire Court Forms
    >
    >

    New Hampshire Law

    New Hampshire State Laws
        > New Hampshire Child Support
        > New Hampshire Gun Laws
        > New Hampshire Statute
    New Hampshire Tax
        > New Hampshire State Tax
    New Hampshire Court
        > Chpalinsky v. New Hampshire
    New Hampshire Labor Laws
        > New Hampshire Unemployment
    New Hampshire Agencies
        > New Hampshire DMV

    New Hampshire Court Map

    Tips