State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Michigan > Chapter-458 > Act-42-of-1842 > Section-458-151

Act 42 of 1842

458.151 Baptist convention; incorporation, objects.

Sec. 1.

That said association of which John Booth is president, and W. Taylor, R. Powell, J. I. Fulton, J. Hall, C. H. Swain, S. Goodman, J. O. Beardsall, M. Allen, J. S. Twiss, J. Knapp, J. Harris, D. B. Brown, E. Weaver and J. Michell are vice presidents; and R. C. Smith, treasurer; and D. B. Brown, auditor; and M. Sanford, secretary; and M. Pearsall, D. Barrett, N. G. Chase, C. L. Bacon, R. B. Rexford, W. S. Gregory, S. Chase, A. Wattles, J. Tenny, L. Moore, T. W. Merrill, M. B. Savage, A. Piper, T. Z. R. Jones, W. G. Wisner, E. Hodge, G. B. Day, W. B. Brown, A. Ten Broek, F. Darrow, D. Hendee, E. Comstock, C. B. Taylor, C. Eldred, C. P. Jacobs, R. Tiffany, E. H. Hamlin, H. D. Buttolph, L. H. Moore and B. G. Lewis, directors, is hereby constituted a body corporate by the name of the Michigan Baptist Convention. The object of this convention shall be:

First. To promote the preaching of the gospel and the establishment and maintenance of Baptist churches and Sunday schools within the state of Michigan.

Second. To encourage the educational interests of the denomination within the state.

Third. The disseminating of the gospel, aiding home and foreign missions, promoting ministerial education, Sabbath school instruction, and the circulation of religious tracts.

History: 1842, Act 42, Eff. Mar. 19, 1842 ;-- Am. 1905, Act 60, Imd. Eff. Apr. 19, 1905 ;-- CL 1929, 10913 ;-- CL 1948, 458.151