State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > North-carolina > Chapter_143B > GS_143B-162

§ 143B‑162. Professional Advisory Committee – members; selection; quorum; compensation.

The Professional Advisory Committee of the Department of Health andHuman Services shall consist of nine members appointed by the Governor, threeof whom shall be licensed physicians nominated by the North Carolina MedicalSociety whose practice is limited to ophthalmology, three optometristsnominated by the North Carolina State Optometric Society, and three opticiansnominated by the North Carolina Opticians Association.

Those nine members shall serve three‑year terms staggered suchthat the terms of three members shall expire each year. A member of theCommittee shall continue to serve until his successor is appointed andqualifies. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Committee created by theresignation, dismissal, death, or disability of a member shall be for thebalance of the unexpired term.

The Governor shall have the power to remove any member of the Committeefrom office in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 143B‑16 of theExecutive Organization Act of 1973.

The Governor shall designate a member of the Committee to serve aschairman at his pleasure.

Members of the Committee shall receive per diem and necessary traveland subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138‑5.

A majority of the Committee shall constitute a quorum for thetransaction of business.

All clerical and other services required by the Committee shall besupplied by the Secretary of Health and Human Services.

The schedule for appointments to the Committee described in Section 1of this act is as follows: The ophthalmologists and optometrists serving on theCommittee on the date this act is ratified shall continue to serve until theirrespective terms expire. Initial appointments of the three opticians shall bemade no later than July 2, 1979, shall become effective on that date, and shallbe for one, two, and three‑year terms, respectively. At the end of therespective terms of office of those nine members, the appointment of theirsuccessors shall be for terms of three years. (1973, c. 476, s. 145; 1979, c. 977, ss. 1, 2; 1997‑443,s. 11A.118(a).)