State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > North-carolina > Chapter_143B > GS_143B-295

§ 143B‑295.  Soil and Water ConservationCommission – members; selection; removal; compensation; quorum; services.

(a)        The Soil and Water Conservation Commission of the Departmentof Environment and Natural Resources shall be composed of seven members appointedby the Governor. The Commission shall be composed of the following members:

(1)        The president, first vice‑president, and immediatepast president of the North Carolina Association of Soil and Water ConservationDistricts. Vacancies arising in any of these positions shall be filled throughappointment by the Governor upon the nomination by the executive committee ofthe North Carolina Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts;

(2)        Three supervisor members nominated by the North CarolinaAssociation of Soil and Water Conservation Districts from its own membershiprepresenting the three major geographical regions of the State and appointed bythe Governor;

(3)        One member appointed at large by the Governor.

(b)        The members of the Commission, except those members servingin an ex officio capacity, shall be appointed for terms of three years andshall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified. Any appointmentto fill a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation, dismissal, deathor disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term.

(c)        The office of member of the Soil and Water ConservationCommission may be held concurrently with any other elective or appointiveoffice, in addition to the maximum number of offices permitted to be held byone person under G.S. 128‑1.1.

(d)        The Governor shall have the power to remove any member ofthe Commission from office for misfeasance, malfeasance, and nonfeasanceaccording to the provisions of G.S. 143B‑13.

(e)        The members of the Commission shall receive per diem andnecessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions ofG.S. 138‑5.

(f)         A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum forthe transaction of business.

(g)        All clerical and other services required by the Commissionshall be supplied by the Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources. (1973, c. 1262, s. 35; 1977, c. 771, s. 4; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(136);1997‑443, s. 11A.119(a); 2002‑176, s. 2; 2003‑198, s. 1.)