State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > North-carolina > Chapter_143B > GS_143B-374

§ 143B‑374.  (Forapplicability see note) North Carolina Capital Planning Commission – members;selection; quorum; compensation.

(a)        The North Carolina Capital Planning Commission of theDepartment of Administration shall consist of the following ex officiomembers:  the Governor of North Carolina who shall serve as chairman; allmembers of the Council of State including the Lieutenant Governor (or a persondesignated by the Lieutenant Governor), who shall serve as vice‑chairman;the Speaker (or a person designated by the Speaker), and four members of theNorth Carolina House of Representatives, and four members of the North CarolinaSenate; and a representative of the City of Raleigh to be designated by theCity Council of Raleigh to serve a two‑year term to expire at the samedate city council members' terms expire.  The President Pro Tempore of theSenate shall appoint the four members of the Senate on or before July 1, 1975,for two‑year terms to expire at the same date General Assembly members'terms expire.  The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint thefour members of the House on or before July 1, 1975, for two‑year termsto expire at the same date General Assembly members' terms expire.

Public officers who are made members of the Commission shall be deemedto serve ex officio.

(b)        The members of the Commission shall receive per diem andnecessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions ofG.S. 138‑5.

A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for thetransaction of business.

All clerical and other services required by the Commission shall besupplied by the Secretary of Administration.

All minutes, records, plans, and all other documents of public recordof the State Capital Planning Commission, the Heritage Square Commission, andthe former North Carolina Capital Planning Commission shall be turned over tothe Department of Administration.

The Commission shall meet quarterly, and at other times at the call ofthe chairman. (1975, c. 879, s.11; 1981, c. 47, s. 3; 1991, c. 739, s. 28.)