State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Wisconsin > 342 > 342.34

342.34

342.34 Department to be notified of destruction or junking of vehicle.

342.34(1)

(1) Any person owning or possessing a junk vehicle shall, within 10 days after determining that the vehicle is a junk vehicle do all of the following:

342.34(1)(a)

(a) Notify the department of the junk condition of the vehicle.

342.34(1)(b)

(b) Return the certificate of title to the department.

342.34(1)(c)

(c) If the vehicle is a motorcycle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27 or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, the owner shall remove the registration plates and retain and preserve them for use on any other vehicle of the same type which may subsequently be registered in his or her name. If the vehicle is not a motorcycle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27, or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, he or she shall remove and destroy the plates.

342.34(2)

(2) Any person owning or possessing a vehicle which has been junked or destroyed shall, within 10 days after the destruction or junking occurred do all of the following:

342.34(2)(a)

(a) Notify the department of the destruction or junking.

342.34(2)(b)

(b) Return the certificate of title to the department.

342.34(2)(c)

(c) Remove and either retain or destroy the registration plates for the vehicle as provided in sub. (1) (c).

342.34(3)

(3) No certificate of title may be issued for a junk vehicle or for a vehicle which has been junked or destroyed.

342.34(3m)

(3m) In determining whether a vehicle meets the definition of a junk vehicle for purposes of this section or s. 342.15 (1) (a), the department may promulgate rules specifying the conditions under which a vehicle shall be considered incapable of operation or use upon a highway.

342.34(4)

(4)

342.34(4)(a)

(a) Any person violating sub. (1) or (2) may be required to forfeit not more than $200.

342.34(4)(b)

(b) Any person who with intent to defraud violates sub. (1) or (2) may be required to forfeit not more than $1,000.

342.34 - ANNOT.

History: 1971 c. 278; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1455, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 129, 418; 1983 a. 126, 227, 270, 538; 1987 a. 349; 1993 a. 63; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 80.

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Wisconsin > 342 > 342.34

342.34

342.34 Department to be notified of destruction or junking of vehicle.

342.34(1)

(1) Any person owning or possessing a junk vehicle shall, within 10 days after determining that the vehicle is a junk vehicle do all of the following:

342.34(1)(a)

(a) Notify the department of the junk condition of the vehicle.

342.34(1)(b)

(b) Return the certificate of title to the department.

342.34(1)(c)

(c) If the vehicle is a motorcycle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27 or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, the owner shall remove the registration plates and retain and preserve them for use on any other vehicle of the same type which may subsequently be registered in his or her name. If the vehicle is not a motorcycle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27, or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, he or she shall remove and destroy the plates.

342.34(2)

(2) Any person owning or possessing a vehicle which has been junked or destroyed shall, within 10 days after the destruction or junking occurred do all of the following:

342.34(2)(a)

(a) Notify the department of the destruction or junking.

342.34(2)(b)

(b) Return the certificate of title to the department.

342.34(2)(c)

(c) Remove and either retain or destroy the registration plates for the vehicle as provided in sub. (1) (c).

342.34(3)

(3) No certificate of title may be issued for a junk vehicle or for a vehicle which has been junked or destroyed.

342.34(3m)

(3m) In determining whether a vehicle meets the definition of a junk vehicle for purposes of this section or s. 342.15 (1) (a), the department may promulgate rules specifying the conditions under which a vehicle shall be considered incapable of operation or use upon a highway.

342.34(4)

(4)

342.34(4)(a)

(a) Any person violating sub. (1) or (2) may be required to forfeit not more than $200.

342.34(4)(b)

(b) Any person who with intent to defraud violates sub. (1) or (2) may be required to forfeit not more than $1,000.

342.34 - ANNOT.

History: 1971 c. 278; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1455, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 129, 418; 1983 a. 126, 227, 270, 538; 1987 a. 349; 1993 a. 63; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 80.

State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Wisconsin > 342 > 342.34

342.34

342.34 Department to be notified of destruction or junking of vehicle.

342.34(1)

(1) Any person owning or possessing a junk vehicle shall, within 10 days after determining that the vehicle is a junk vehicle do all of the following:

342.34(1)(a)

(a) Notify the department of the junk condition of the vehicle.

342.34(1)(b)

(b) Return the certificate of title to the department.

342.34(1)(c)

(c) If the vehicle is a motorcycle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27 or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, the owner shall remove the registration plates and retain and preserve them for use on any other vehicle of the same type which may subsequently be registered in his or her name. If the vehicle is not a motorcycle or an automobile registered under s. 341.27, or a motor home or a motor truck, dual purpose motor home or dual purpose farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds or a farm truck which has a gross weight of not more than 12,000 pounds, he or she shall remove and destroy the plates.

342.34(2)

(2) Any person owning or possessing a vehicle which has been junked or destroyed shall, within 10 days after the destruction or junking occurred do all of the following:

342.34(2)(a)

(a) Notify the department of the destruction or junking.

342.34(2)(b)

(b) Return the certificate of title to the department.

342.34(2)(c)

(c) Remove and either retain or destroy the registration plates for the vehicle as provided in sub. (1) (c).

342.34(3)

(3) No certificate of title may be issued for a junk vehicle or for a vehicle which has been junked or destroyed.

342.34(3m)

(3m) In determining whether a vehicle meets the definition of a junk vehicle for purposes of this section or s. 342.15 (1) (a), the department may promulgate rules specifying the conditions under which a vehicle shall be considered incapable of operation or use upon a highway.

342.34(4)

(4)

342.34(4)(a)

(a) Any person violating sub. (1) or (2) may be required to forfeit not more than $200.

342.34(4)(b)

(b) Any person who with intent to defraud violates sub. (1) or (2) may be required to forfeit not more than $1,000.

342.34 - ANNOT.

History: 1971 c. 278; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1455, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 129, 418; 1983 a. 126, 227, 270, 538; 1987 a. 349; 1993 a. 63; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 80.

Categories