State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Wisconsin > 349 > 349.25

349.25

349.25 Authority to license hayrack and sleigh rides.

349.25(1)

(1) In counties containing a city of the first or second class, the owner of a vehicle to be operated upon a highway for the purpose of transporting persons for hire in what is commonly known as a hayrack ride, a sleigh, boxsled or bobsled ride or a ride of similar nature and every person who is to operate such a vehicle shall obtain a license from the county board before so operating such a vehicle. Any person operating any such vehicle under the circumstances described without first obtaining a license from the county board may be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or both.

349.25(2)

(2) No county board may issue a license for any of the vehicles mentioned in sub. (1) unless the applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, and until the applicant exhibits proof that liability insurance will be in force for the protection of passengers in the minimum amount of $10,000 for any one passenger and $50,000 for any single accident. Section 632.24 is applicable to the insurance required under this section, whether the vehicle is a motor vehicle or is propelled in some other manner. The county board shall set the amount for each license issued, not to exceed an amount reasonably related to the actual and necessary cost of providing the license.

349.25(3)

(3) The county board may, after notice and hearing accorded the licensee, revoke any license issued by it pursuant to this section whenever in its judgment the public safety so requires.

349.25(4)

(4) No vehicle licensed pursuant to this section shall be operated upon a highway for the purpose of transporting persons for hire unless it is equipped with at least one red reflector at each of the 2 rear corners of the vehicle and with at least one blue reflector at each of the 2 front corners of the vehicle and at the front end of the pole or tongue. All such reflectors shall be of a type approved by the department.

349.25(5)

(5) The county board in any county not containing a city of the first or second class may by ordinance require owners and operators of vehicles to be used for the purposes specified in sub. (1) to be licensed. The actual issuance of the license may be delegated to the county clerk.

349.25 - ANNOT.

History: 1975 c. 375 s. 44; 1975 c. 421; 1977 c. 29 s. 1654 (7) (a); 1981 c. 380; 1981 c. 391 s. 211; 1983 a. 146.

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Wisconsin > 349 > 349.25

349.25

349.25 Authority to license hayrack and sleigh rides.

349.25(1)

(1) In counties containing a city of the first or second class, the owner of a vehicle to be operated upon a highway for the purpose of transporting persons for hire in what is commonly known as a hayrack ride, a sleigh, boxsled or bobsled ride or a ride of similar nature and every person who is to operate such a vehicle shall obtain a license from the county board before so operating such a vehicle. Any person operating any such vehicle under the circumstances described without first obtaining a license from the county board may be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or both.

349.25(2)

(2) No county board may issue a license for any of the vehicles mentioned in sub. (1) unless the applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, and until the applicant exhibits proof that liability insurance will be in force for the protection of passengers in the minimum amount of $10,000 for any one passenger and $50,000 for any single accident. Section 632.24 is applicable to the insurance required under this section, whether the vehicle is a motor vehicle or is propelled in some other manner. The county board shall set the amount for each license issued, not to exceed an amount reasonably related to the actual and necessary cost of providing the license.

349.25(3)

(3) The county board may, after notice and hearing accorded the licensee, revoke any license issued by it pursuant to this section whenever in its judgment the public safety so requires.

349.25(4)

(4) No vehicle licensed pursuant to this section shall be operated upon a highway for the purpose of transporting persons for hire unless it is equipped with at least one red reflector at each of the 2 rear corners of the vehicle and with at least one blue reflector at each of the 2 front corners of the vehicle and at the front end of the pole or tongue. All such reflectors shall be of a type approved by the department.

349.25(5)

(5) The county board in any county not containing a city of the first or second class may by ordinance require owners and operators of vehicles to be used for the purposes specified in sub. (1) to be licensed. The actual issuance of the license may be delegated to the county clerk.

349.25 - ANNOT.

History: 1975 c. 375 s. 44; 1975 c. 421; 1977 c. 29 s. 1654 (7) (a); 1981 c. 380; 1981 c. 391 s. 211; 1983 a. 146.

State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Wisconsin > 349 > 349.25

349.25

349.25 Authority to license hayrack and sleigh rides.

349.25(1)

(1) In counties containing a city of the first or second class, the owner of a vehicle to be operated upon a highway for the purpose of transporting persons for hire in what is commonly known as a hayrack ride, a sleigh, boxsled or bobsled ride or a ride of similar nature and every person who is to operate such a vehicle shall obtain a license from the county board before so operating such a vehicle. Any person operating any such vehicle under the circumstances described without first obtaining a license from the county board may be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or both.

349.25(2)

(2) No county board may issue a license for any of the vehicles mentioned in sub. (1) unless the applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, and until the applicant exhibits proof that liability insurance will be in force for the protection of passengers in the minimum amount of $10,000 for any one passenger and $50,000 for any single accident. Section 632.24 is applicable to the insurance required under this section, whether the vehicle is a motor vehicle or is propelled in some other manner. The county board shall set the amount for each license issued, not to exceed an amount reasonably related to the actual and necessary cost of providing the license.

349.25(3)

(3) The county board may, after notice and hearing accorded the licensee, revoke any license issued by it pursuant to this section whenever in its judgment the public safety so requires.

349.25(4)

(4) No vehicle licensed pursuant to this section shall be operated upon a highway for the purpose of transporting persons for hire unless it is equipped with at least one red reflector at each of the 2 rear corners of the vehicle and with at least one blue reflector at each of the 2 front corners of the vehicle and at the front end of the pole or tongue. All such reflectors shall be of a type approved by the department.

349.25(5)

(5) The county board in any county not containing a city of the first or second class may by ordinance require owners and operators of vehicles to be used for the purposes specified in sub. (1) to be licensed. The actual issuance of the license may be delegated to the county clerk.

349.25 - ANNOT.

History: 1975 c. 375 s. 44; 1975 c. 421; 1977 c. 29 s. 1654 (7) (a); 1981 c. 380; 1981 c. 391 s. 211; 1983 a. 146.

Categories