State Codes and Statutes

State Codes and Statutes

Statutes > Mississippi > Title-49 > 15 > 49-15-97

§ 49-15-97. Requirement that commercial fishing vessels use approved lights; penalties.
 

(1)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman, firm or corporation to operate a vessel during the hours of sunset to sunrise when the season or time for such fishing is closed or in an area that is closed to fishing without using or displaying lights which comply with all federal regulations applicable to that vessel operated by the fisherman, firm or corporation. 

(2)  For the purpose of this section, the term "commercial fisherman" shall mean a commercially licensed boat, commercially licensed fisherman or any person in possession of commercial fishing gear who would be subject to regulation under Chapter 15 of Title 49, Mississippi Code of 1972. 

(3)  Any person, firm or corporation that violates this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be fined not less than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00) or more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) for the first offense; and not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for the second offense when the second offense is committed within a period of three (3) years after the date on which the first offense was committed; and not less than Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) or more than Four Thousand Dollars ($4,000.00) or imprisonment in the county jail for a period of not more than thirty (30) days for a third or subsequent offense when that offense is committed within a period of three (3) years after the date on which the first offense was committed. 
 

Any fine or sentence, or both, imposed upon a person for a second, third or subsequent offense under this section shall not be suspended or reduced. 
 

Sources: Laws,  1994, ch. 344, § 1, eff from and after July 1, 1994.